Guru of joy

I decided to walk to a friend’s house for dinner the other night. This is unusual because most friends are not within walking distance. But this was a brisk 15-minute walk and I was in the mood. After two blocks, I crossed the city highway and came face-to-face with a poster on a hydro pole. Guru of Joy, it said. Ravi Shankar. I looked left, and there it was taped again on the driveway gates of a house. Then it struck me. There are no coincidences; there is fate: out of the blue, I decide to walk, and I’m struck by a bolt of joy. Thank you Ravi Shankar, for playing in Vancouver at exactly the right time.

Leave a Reply

