See’s is my happy habit

I don’t drink alcohol, I don’t smoke, I don’t even sip coffee. My habit is chocolate. I mean, I. LOVE. CHOCOLATE. I like it pure and dark. Except when it’s See’s. Then it’s milk chocolate nuts and chews all the way.

I’ve had an affair with See’s Candies pretty much my whole life. When I was little, my mother would drive my sister and me to Seattle to shop at Frederick & Nelson and Nordstrom Best, but even the acquisition of white go-go boots didn’t hold a candle to See’s Almond Royals.

I went to college in Southern California, where I became a naturalized citizen of See’s, much to my friends’ amusement (they even gave me a tour of the See’s factory on South La Cienega Blvd in LA for my birthday—how nice was that?). They obligingly bought me boxes of Rocky Road and jars of Almond Royals if they passed a store (many were still self-standing at that point, and quite charming); a few even bought me Special Edition Barbies when they were issued. I received no less than six copies of the See’s biography when it came out a few moons ago.

Here’s all the stats you need to know about See’s and me now:

  • Closest See’s to the Canadian border: Burlington Crossing Shopping Center, about a 60-mile joyride.
  • Ritual stop en route to Portland to see bestie Susan: Northgate Mall in the northern outskirts of Seattle.
  • Sentimental favorite: 144 South Palm Canyon Drive in Palm Springs, where my family makes a pilgrimage from the airport before heading to my mother’s place.

 What exactly do I order from See’s? That, dear readers, is the conundrum. It changes up. It’s necessary to send an email to Those Who Buy Me See’s to stop them from purchasing last year’s favorites. (Note to Rick: If you ever buy me 10 pounds of Dark Chocolate Almonds again, I will throw them at you.)

Confession to friends who are reading this: I am not that into Rocky Road anymore. Yes, it was the love of my life for about 20 years, but I’ve moved on. The 2011-2012 list:

  • Caramel. The classic one with the almond. I can’t imagine I’ll ever get tired of it.
  • Peanut Crunch. It’s not as crunchy as California Brittle, so it’s perfect.
  • Pecan Bud. Like a turtle, but better.

That’s it. A short, sweet list. My ode to See’s.

Leave a Reply

